Morphic Waves – Joey Roukens

New orchestral work commission

5 July 2017 – Auditorium Parco della Musica, Rome – Cavea
Orchestra dell’Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia

Kristian Jarvi direttore
Stefano Bollani pianoforte

Roukens Morphic Waves*
Bollani Concerto Azzurro
Gershwin Rhapsody in Blue
Gershwin Un Americano a Parigi

*italian premiere
world premiere in Amsterdam,  June 18, 2016 (click to view)

‘Morphic Waves’ is a symphony cast in one continuous 23-minute span, consisting of several subsections that organically morph into one another, not unlike Sibelius 7th Symphony, a piece which I adore. Throughout the piece one can hear wave-like elements, most notably in the dynamic swells (‘waves’ of crescendo and diminuendo or fade in/fade out) in all instruments, but also in the way the orchestral textures expand and contract. The piece is mainly about texture, color and harmony. The harmonies are mostly rather dark-hued, although the final 5 or so minutes are very serene and tender. The piece was written as part of my residency with the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra during the 2015-16 concert season.
Joey Roukens

09:00 pm
Rome (IT) view map
Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia