Mozart’s Second Concerto. Ferran Cruixent’s world premier

New orchestral work commission

Brahms took twenty years to complete this masterpiece. He felt overwhelmed by the symphonies of the great classics and didn’t add the final double bar until he was 43 years of age: some people refer to it as “Beethoven’s Tenth”. Success was immediate and in just over eight years he wrote three more symphonies. As Kazushi Ono said, Brahms’ symphonies require comprehensive work in order to develop the sound of an orchestra. It has now been some years since Maria João Pires launched the Partitura Project, in which she shares the stage with young talents. As part of this intergenerational experience she has chosen a brilliant Mozart concerto to perform with Catalan pianist Ignasi Cambra, trained in Barcelona and the United States.


  • CRUIXENT: Commissioned by the FUNDACIÓN SGAE and AEOS. World premiere
  • Mozart: Concerto for Two Pianos and Orchestra No. 10, KV.365, in E-Flat major
  • BRAHMS: Symphony No. 1, Op. 68, in C Minor


  • Kazushi Ono, conductor
  • Maria João Pires, piano
  • Ignasi Cambra, piano
08:30 pm
Barcelona (ES) view map
Orquestra Simfònica de Barcelona